EL DORADO LAFCO

LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

550 Main Street Suite E • Placerville, CA 95667 (530) 295-2707 • lafco@edlafco.us • www.edlafco.us

M E M O

DATE: March 21, 2017

TO: Special District Selection Committee

FROM: José C. Henríquez, Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Instant Runoff Election of Regular Special District Representative to

El Dorado LAFCO

Election of Special District Representative to LAFCO

Thank you for submitting nominations for the Special District Representatives election.

At the time a minimum number of ballots are received to establish a quorum, in order to be selected as a LAFCO Representative, a nominee must receive more than fifty-percent (50%) of the submitted votes. If none of the candidates receive the necessary majority of votes, LAFCO will conduct an "instant runoff election" in the interest of avoiding the additional costs of a runoff election. An informational explanation describing this election process is included for your convenience.

Also enclosed with this memo you will find a ballot and a copy of each candidate's Statement of Qualifications received as of the date of this memo.

Please note that there is one seat that is up for election. Whomever receives the highest number of votes in this election will serve as the regular member for a new four-year term. If the current sitting Alternate Member, Holly Morrison, receives the highest number of votes, the second top vote getter will serve as the Alternate Member for a two-year term.

Please take the opportunity to fill out the ballot, ranking each nominee in the order of preference using "1" for your first preference, "2" for second, and so on. It is okay to vote for only one person; however, <u>ranking additional candidates will not</u> help defeat your first-choice candidate. Please do not mark the same number beside more than one candidate and do not skip numbers.

Special District Representative Election March 21, 2017 Page 2 of 2

The nominees, in alphabetical order, are:

- 1) Dale Coco, MD
- 2) Noelle Mattock
- 3) Holly Morrison
- 4) Tim Palmer

Election Deadline

The voting period will be 47 days from March 21, 2017; all votes are due in writing on or before **5:00 pm** on **May 8, 2017**. Voting will cease on this date or whenever a quorum of special districts is reached, whichever occurs later. Please do not forget to have the presiding officer (Board President or Chair) of the board meeting in which you made your selection sign the returned ballot.

If the presiding officer is unable to vote, the legislative body of the district may designate another board member to cast the ballot in place of the presiding officer. Board members designated by their district board to vote in place of the presiding officer should provide that authorization (in the form of a resolution or minute order) to LAFCO no later than the time the ballot is cast. District managers or other staff members may not substitute their signature for the presiding officer's signature.

Additionally, if the presiding officer has changed since the last Special District Representative Election, please provide supporting documentation to LAFCO about the change so that LAFCO staff can update its records.

If any of these requirements are not met, the ballot will be considered invalid.

Thank you for your time and please feel free to contact me or any member of my staff at (530) 295-2707, if you have any questions.